Summer Associate Experience

During my summer I was fortunate enough to spend time in various Value Analysis Team (VAT )meetings and learn about how these teams contribute to UPMC.  These teams, created for specific areas of medicine, meet once every month to discuss new upcoming products for their areas, products not preforming, and reexamine products. VAT teams include the pediatric VAT, respiratory VAT, IV VAT and many more.Mellott,%20Mollie

The VAT meetings really opened my eyes to how much research, trial and thought goes into choosing the products in UPMC hospitals. I loved working with doctors and nurses to see how supply chain and the hospitals work together to make sure everyone agrees. I also loved the chance to work with vendors coming to share their newest product with us. Until now, I had never had real life experience working with suppliers, which is a big part of the supply chain process. My favorite part of the VAT meetings is learning about new medical products and how medical supplies work. My classes at Penn State are business focused, and I’ve never had any experience in the medical field so it was cool to combine the knowledge I’ve gained from college and the new things I’m learning about medical supplies to make a final decision on products.

By Mollie Mellott, Summer Associate

Leave a comment

Filed under Summer Associates, Supply Chain

Share your thoughts!