Career Goals and My Progress at UPMC

 “Don’t aim for success if you want it; just do what you love and believe, and it will come naturally.”
 -David Frost

Petro,%20ElanaGrowing up, I always heard those words around me say, similar to “do what you love and you will never work a day in your life.”  I never understood the value in this statement until I began my professional career.  Coming into my internship with UPMC this summer, I had no idea how much I was going to learn or the advances in my career I was going to make by pursuing what I love to do.  I arrived with the expectation to learn a lot about finance and gain some new experiences, but I have since learned many things beyond what I expected.  Not only have I learned a lot about finance in my position, but I have surprisingly learned more about healthcare than I ever imagined.  I have also learned many things about working in a corporate environment as well as understanding the dynamics that come into play when working with different people.  I have made many new friends, enabling me to develop as an individual.  Through service events, I have come to understand the beliefs that are at the core of UPMC.  My career goal was to one day work in finance, and I never knew it could lead me to UPMC.  I never saw myself loving this kind of work, but my summer at UPMC has given me the ability to experience something new and succeed at it.  I have learned that sometimes your career goals change as your experiences enumerate.  Often times, an experience can enable you to better understand yourself and shape your goals.  My summer here at UPMC has given me that ability.  While the work was valuable, the ability to better know myself and understand my goals is an experience that will always be of value in my life.

By Elana Petro, Summer Associate

Leave a comment

Filed under Finance, Summer Associates

Share your thoughts!